Author Topic: Exercise over time  (Read 703 times)

Offline Lacey

Exercise over time
« on: 15 January 2014, 04:48:09 PM »
This might sound a bit of an odd question and I'm not sure I will be able to articulate it well but here goes anyway.

If I do a certain amount of exercise and my BGs show improvement because of this exercise, will my body become used to it and will it have less of an effect on my BGs over time? Will I have to up the intensity of the exercise to show even a modest benefit to my BGs once my body becomes accustomed to what I am doing now?

I am pretty new to exercise for health. I did play a lot of sport as a child and young woman but not for health purposes, just because it was fun. My knowledge of exercise and health benefits is pretty rudimentary, to be honest, other than "exercise good, no exercise bad" so if anyone could help, that would be great.
Diagnosed T2 October 2013
Latest HbA1c- 5.8 (June 2015)
Eating to my meter, exercise & Metformin 2x2x500mg per day
Happy to have found this forum :)

Offline nytquill17

• Global Moderator
  • It's all in the balance.
Re: Exercise over time
« Reply #1 on: 15 January 2014, 05:55:53 PM »
That's a good question! My understanding is that no, your body doesn't get used to exercise in the sense that it takes more and more to achieve the same effects (it may get used to it in the sense of being in better shape and needing more intensity to continue to build muscle after a certain point).