Author Topic: Quinoa  (Read 554 times)

Offline TerryJ

Quinoa
« on: 13 November 2014, 08:36:46 AM »
I was looking at Sainsburys offers and they sell quinoa for £1.30 per 300g. It's a grain from the amaranth family but it's only 16.5% carbs of which sugars 0.5%.

I've never tried it before. Anybody else used it for anything ?

Can it be used as a flour substitute ?
Type 2 since 1999. Current meds Gliclazide
HbA1c Feb10 10.9, May10 7.7, Oct10 6.6, Oct11 6.7, Dec12 6.4, Nov13 6.9

Offline Ziggy

• Sometimes I feel like a cartoon character!
Re: Quinoa
« Reply #1 on: 13 November 2014, 09:03:32 AM »
I used it as a substitute for rice in dishes TerryJ or to add to salads, it has a lot of nutrients and protein in it and is reckoned to be a bit of a superstar amongst the superfoods. Having said that I must check the use by date in the bag I have in the cupboard !!!

8)    8)    8)

ZigSig:-
T2 Since 22-May-2008 - HbA1c Dec 2015 - 38 or 5.6.  Chol - 5.8

Ramapril 10mg, Omeprazole 20mg
Exercise - am running on a fairly regular basis - knees don't fail me now :)  and Diet (am a lacto ova vegetarian and am trying to stay low GI/GL)     Still on the Road To Find Out

Offline Pattidevans

• Administrator
  • It's ONLY Diabetes. It could be something worse!
« Reply #2 on: 13 November 2014, 10:49:05 AM »
I bought a bag and made some up but we didn't really like the texture which was rather gluey.  Though I could've made it up wrong.  We threw most of it away.  Try it though, you may like it.  Word of warning a little dry quinoa makes up to an awful LOT of the finished product.
Patti

Type 1.  Mis-diagnosed T2 May 2003, finally had CPeptide test 15/7/11 and proper diagnosis 1/9/11.  Now pumping Apidra with Roche Spirit Combo pump. Hba1c 6.1 April 2016.

© 2015 Patti Evans

Offline nytquill17

• Global Moderator
  • It's all in the balance.
« Reply #3 on: 13 November 2014, 11:40:16 AM »