Author Topic: A lost stray is returning ...  (Read 356 times)

Offline nellie

A lost stray is returning ...
« on: 18 October 2017, 04:08:53 PM »
... and here I am.

I joined his forum when I was first diagnosed and was very well-controlled by diet alone at first. THen there was a series of big personal events and my control went AWOL. One of the events was a move to a new area and a new GP practice. I got off to a bad start with the DN at the new surgery and got told basically to do 'do what I say, eat what I say and let me prescribe any medication I think will work'. It didn't fit very well with me when she started to explain in words of one syllable what DM is, despite her knowing I'm a retired nurse.

I was put onto Metformin which had no effect at all. I tried to keep to my VLCHF diet with a 'treat' once a week (rotated between a piece of cake, small portion of chips or an ice-cream on Sundays). My BG kept on going up and up. I also started to find keeping the carbs so low nauseating - I've been craving an occasional baked potato or 'proper' sandwich with a slice of wholemeal bread instead of just a slice of cheese for lunch.

I saw Nursey Nightshade  :nursey: again 2 days ago and was amazed at the difference in attitude. I've been bad and instead of having the potato I craved, I've denied myself it but lost control when I was at WI meetings with all that cake ... And when my husband had chocolate in the house, I ate it and bought more while he was at work to replace it. I know from past experience that if I have a tiny bit of what I crave, I'm okay but if I resist it, I eat anything in sight for days. Okay - confession over.